An Incomplete List of Everything “Reset All Settings” Actually Resets

andrew rich
2 min readNov 7, 2017

In troubleshooting a strange Apple Pay problem (the iPhone helpfully tells me to “Hold near reader to pay” even when the phone is literally on top of the reader), the Apple Support rep suggested I do a “Reset All Settings”.

Gulp.

So I took a full iTunes backup, and …

ALL of them

What follows is an incomplete list of everything I had to reconfigure after the iPhone finished resetting and came back up.

  • Wifi networks
  • Touch ID fingerprints
  • Notification settings for many apps; some apps need to be deleted and reinstalled to recover notification access
  • Location settings for all apps
  • Text size and display zoom settings
  • Wallpapers and Lock Screen images
  • Third-party keyboard access (e.g. Gboard, Bitmoji)
  • Credit cards stored in Apple Pay (cached, but need to be reactivated by typing in the three- or four-digit security code on each card)
  • Notification Center controls
  • iCloud Messages syncing from iPhone to and from Mac
  • Raise to Wake
  • Alarms and Bedtime settings

And I’m not sure yet whether this Reset All Settings actually fixed the Apple Pay problem, because the only way to test is to actually try an Apple Pay transaction. So I’ll do that when I can, and update the post at that point.

Update: It didn’t.

I totally forgot to update this post. Reset All Settings did not fix the Apple Pay problem, and neither did a full Reset, so I exchanged the phone at the Apple Store and now all is well. Strangely, the phone did pass the hardware test administered by the tech at the Apple Store. So I really have no idea why Apple Pay stopped working.

--

--

andrew rich

Hacker, engineer, voice actor, Army vet, nonmammaltarian, IRONMAN, friend to cats. He/Him. Doesn’t speak for employer.